Archive for the 'databases' Category

The State Library at CAL

The Colorado State Library will have a variety of pre-conferences and workshops at the 2009 CAL Conference.  Don’t forget to stop by our booth on Friday and Saturday in the Exhibits Area. We would love to:

  • * Share with you the latest services and resources we can offer Colorado libraries
  • * Hear how libraries have transformed your lives

CSL at CAL 2009 – Schedule (PDF)

Track your meds – online

Posted on behalf of Dana Abbey.

Did you know that adults in the U.S. average 11.5 prescriptions per year, and persons over 60 average 15.6? Pillboxbeta, provides an easy way to visually identify an unknown tablet or capsule medication based on imprint, shape or color.

The National Library of Medicine (NLM) is developing two free online tools to assist in identifying and tracking prescriptions and over-the-counter medications. Continue reading ‘Track your meds – online’

Boring. Historical. CHNC.

History is dull. Dry. Boring as all get-out.

Saturday, June 30, 1894. Buena Vista Herald.

The Western Region. A Dastardly Outrage.
Adjutant General Tarsney Tarred and Feathered at Colorado Springs.

“…kidnapped from the Alamo hotel a few minutes after midnight Saturday morning, by masked men, taken to the suburbs in a hack, and there tarred and feathered. General Tarsney had been in the city for several days attending the examination of the arrested Bull Hill miners…” Continue reading ‘Boring. Historical. CHNC.’

Statewide Database Package Unveiled (AIRS)

Posted on behalf of Michelle Jeske…

Subscription information for the 2009/2010 Colorado Statewide Database Package is now available.

All current subscribers will soon receive a packet from BCR that includes:

  • Invoice for your library for 2009/2010
  • List of the databases included in the 2009/2010 package and
    subscriber pricing
  • Contact and additional information

New subscribers can find information about the package, pricing, and a link to the online order form on the AIRS website
Continue reading ‘Statewide Database Package Unveiled (AIRS)’

Successful LSTA Grants for 2008-2009

The reach of this year’s awarded LSTA competitive grants went beyond the original 16 awardees. Several of the grantees developed innovative projects that included outreach and partnerships with other libraries. This Google map shows how 16 awards enriched 38 individual libraries throughout the state!
Resources:

AIRS and $1M cut

With the probable loss of $1 million from State funding gained and used in 2008 to help with the costs of making online database products available to schools and libraries, the AIRS (Acquisition of Information Resources Statewide) Committee has been working to determine how this loss will impact the upcoming AIRS statewide database renewal.  The Committee is negotiating with OCLC and EBSCO to create a new, smaller package at a reasonable price.  Please be assured we are doing our best to provide as much quality content as possible for the variety of libraries we serve while being mindful about limited budgets.  The Committee is also pursuing other ways to reduce costs in addition to reducing content.

We understand that libraries need to know what to expect in terms of content and pricing as soon as possible.  We plan to send out renewal information by mid-May.  If you have questions, please feel free to email me at mjeske@denverlibrary.org.  If your library currently participates in the AIRS statewide database package, thank you for contributing to a service that benefits Colorado residents statewide.

Michelle Jeske
Chair, AIRS Committee

EBSCO Training

Learn about the state AIRS database products through this archive of hands-on EBSCO training sessions and live webinars. Additional online resources to help you or patrons learn and use the databases more effectively are available FREE for download and viewing.

http://www.aclin.org/committees/airs/training.html

Colleague Connection 2009

Join us for the 2009 Colleague Connection! This year’s event is set for Thursday, March 12, 2009 at the University of Denver Driscoll Ballroom.

*Networking, Vendor Exhibits, and Reception begin at 5:30 p.m. The complimentary reception will include beer, wine, sodas, and water with light food.

Continue reading ‘Colleague Connection 2009′

AIRS wants to TRAIN your TRAINERS

Does your library have a resident trainer to assist staff, patrons, or students in learning more about the AIRS databases?  AIRS is offering a full day of training with an experienced trainers who will teach you how to train others.  You will achieve hands-on experience and walk away with materials to share.  Registration and information can be found on LEO, http://leo.clicweb.org.  Classes are small and space is limited.  Sign up early!  The cost is $15, and includes continental breakfast and lunch.

 

***** 

 

For Public and School Libraries:

 

January 29th – 9:00 am to 3:00 pm  (registration and breakfast begin at 8:30)

Mesa County Public Library District – Main Branch

Register at: http://tinyurl.com/TrainTheTrainerJunction

 

- OR     -

 

February 12 – 9:00 am to 3:00 pm  (registration and breakfast begin at 8:30)

Pueblo City/County Library District – Rawlings Branch

Register at: http://tinyurl.com/TrainTheTrainerPueblo

 

This session prepares public librarians for training your staff and library patrons. There will be a review of training resources and techniques for available EBSCO Resources.  An overview of the following key topics will also be covered:

• Advanced Searching Options

• Options to Limit and Expand Search Results

• My EBSCOhost Folder

• Creating Alerts

 

Some of the EBSCO Resources to be covered include: EBSCOhost, Consumer Health Complete, Novelist, Points of View, Literary Reference Center and a summary of key databases available for public libraries.

 

***** 

 

For Academic Libraries:

 

March 17 – 9:00 am to 3:00 pm  (registration and breakfast begin at 8:30)

Greeley – University of Northern Colorado (Michener Library)

Register at: http://tinyurl.com/TrainTheTrainerGreeley

 

This is a hands-on Train-the-Trainer session with a focus on products for Academic Libraries to help prepare for training your staff and students. It includes a review of training resources and techniques for available EBSCO Resources, an overview of the following key topics will also be covered:

• Advanced Searching Options

• Options to Limit and Expand Search Results

• Searching Multiple Databases

• Using Cited References

• My EBSCOhost Folder

• Creating Alerts

 

Some of the EBSCO Resources to be covered include: EBSCOhost, Literary Reference Center, Points of View and a summary of available databases for academic libraries.

 

 

AIRS Databases Fall Training Schedule

Whether your library subscribes to the AIRS EBSCO database package or not, we’d like to invite you to attend one or more of the upcoming webinars in September and October.  There will be general sessions to help you learn more about the AIRS package and the new EBSCO interface.  Sessions are geared toward different types of libraries.  There will be several database specific webinars to provide indepth information on databases such as Academic Search Premier, Consumer Health Complete, and Science Reference Center.  All webinars are taught by knowledgeable EBSCO training staff.  Don’t worry if you can’t make a particiular webinar, CLiC and EBSCO will work to archive the sessions on the CLiC website so you may view them at your convenience.  A schedule of the webinars can be found in LEO, http://leo.clicweb.org.  Just Browse by Organization “AIRS”.  No preregistration is required and directions to access the webinar are included in each LEO event entry.

EBSCO trainers will also come to your library to conduct training.  This may be scheduled with your CLiC consultant.

Each of these training opportunities is FREE and we hope you will take advantage of as many as you can.  Your questions may be directed to Lisa Priebe at CLiC, lpriebe@clicweb.org, 303.422.1150.